Nigeria gets new senate president

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Nabilah AbdulGafar

Senator Ahmed Lawan, a legislator from Yobe North has just in few hours been elected as the new senate president succeeding Senator Bukola Saraki.

Lawan won the election having had a total of 79 votes against his closest rival, Ali Ndume with 28 votes.

From the analysis disclosed by Mohammed Sani-Omolori, the clerk to the National Assembly, 107 senators casted their votes in the election.

Lawan’s nomination was moved by Senator Yahya Abdullahi and seconded by Mr Adeola Olamilekan of Lagos West.

Mr Ahmed Lawan is known as a member of the ruling All Progressive Congress.

Leave a Comment