List of 7 Senators who lost their seat in the ninth Assembly

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Senators who lost their seat and would not be members of the ninth National Assembly in the 2019 election are:

1. Shehu Sani:

Sani, the senator representing Kaduna Central who had fallen out with the Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, and joined the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) lost his chance to return to the Senate.

He lost his Kaduna Central Senatorial Seat to Uba Sani, the candidate of the APC who scored 355,242 votes. Shehu Sani scored 70,613.

2. Godswill Akpabio:

Akpabio dumped the PDP for APC and going by the results declared so far, he appears to have lost in the National Assembly elections.

Akpabio, the candidate of the APC in Ikot Ekpene Senatorial district, lost to Chris Ekpenyong of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He polled 67, 487 while Chris polled 136, 373.

3. Ibrahim Dankwambo:

Dankwambo, the governor of Gombe State was defeated by the candidate of the APC, Sa’idu Alkali.

Umar Gurama, the INEC returning officer for the senatorial election in Gombe, announced that Alkali scored 152,546 votes while Dankwambo got 88,016 votes.

Dankwambo was defeated in four out of the five LGAs in the District including his LGAs which is Gombe.

4. Abiola Ajimobi:

Ajimobi of the All Progressives Congress, APC, lost his senatorial ambition on Saturday to the opposition candidate, Kola Balogun, of the PDP.
Ajimobi polled a total of 92,217 votes while his opponent polled 105,720.

5. Andy Uba:
Andy lost his Anambra South Senatorial seat to the candidate of the Young Progressive Party, YPP in the Saturday’s National Assembly elections, Dr. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah.
Dr. Ubah who polled 87,081 votes defeated the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, All Progressives Congress, APC, All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA, Chiefs Chris Ubah, Andy Ubah, Nicholas Ukachukwu, who polled 52,462, 13,245 and 51,269 votes, respectively.

6. Rabiu Kwankwaso:

According to results announced so far, Senator Rabi’u Musa Kwankwaso (PDP, Kano Central) has lost his senatorial seat.

Announcing the result in Madobi, the Returning Officer, Dr. Sani Umar declared that APC won 23,731 votes in the senatorial district, while PDP got 15,913 and PRP scored 553.

In Tofa local government, INEC returning officer,Dr. Abdulkadir said APC got 18,412 votes in the senatorial poll, PDP 8,548 and PRP 2,100 votes.
In Garun-Malam Local Government, Dr. Abdulkadir said APC got 18,412 votes in the senatorial poll and PDP 8,548.

7. George Akume:

Akume, the All Progressives Congress candidate for Benue North-West (Zone ‘B’) Senatorial elections is already known to have lost in 5 out of the 7 local government areas of the zone.

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, through its publicity secretary, Bemgba Iortyom disclosed this, adding that Akume resorted to ballot snatching as a last-ditch move of desperation in the forlorn hope of clinging to the seat he has occupied over the last 12 years.



Leave a Comment